Hardback
June 6, 2023
9780253065537
English
360
23 b&w illus.
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
$90.00 USD, £70.00 GBP
v2.1 Reference
Paperback / softback
June 6, 2023
9780253065544
English
360
23 b&w illus.
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
$60.00 USD, £47.00 GBP
v2.1 Reference

Three Encounters

Heidegger, Arendt, Derrida

In 1974, thirty-year-old philosopher and translator David Farrell Krell began corresponding and meeting with Martin Heidegger and Hannah Arendt. Years later, he would meet Jacques Derrida and, through many letters and visits, come to know him well. Drawing on unpublished correspondence and Krell's warmly told personal recollections, Three Encounters presents an intimate and highly insightful look at the lives and ideas of three noted philosophers at the peak of their careers.

Three Encounters offers a chance for readers to encounter these three great philosophers and their ideas, not merely through the lens of their biographies, but as "people" we come to know through their personal correspondence and Krell's recollections. Three Encounters demonstrates the intertwining of thought and lived experience.

About the Author

David Farrell Krell is Emeritus Professor of Philosophy at DePaul University, Chicago, and Brauer Distinguished Visiting Professor of German Studies at Brown University, Providence, RI. He also teaches at the University of Freiburg, Germany. His scholarly books include The Sea: A Philosophical Encounter, The Cudgel and the Caress: Reflections on Cruelty and Tenderness, The Tragic Absolute: German Idealism and the Languishing of God . He has also published a number of translations, short stories, and three novels.

Reviews

"In the tradition of Continental Philosophy, Heidegger, Arendt, and Derrida loom large, and Krell is perhaps unique in having had personal relationships with all three. The reader comes away from this book with vivid pictures of these philosophers. We learn not only about aspects of their professional lives, but also about them as people at the times Krell knew them. A delight to read."—Samir Haddad, Fordham University

"The text brims with philosophical ideas from the three thinkers—as well as from Nietzsche, whose presence shadows much of the narrative—and these ideas are presented clearly and discussed in ways that are invariably illuminating. The prose flows beautifully, with frequent sparkles of wit and erudite humour. The interweaving of ideas and themes with engaging anecdotes is judicious and nuanced. I found the entire account enthralling."—Graham Parkes, University of Vienna

9780253065537 : three-encounters-krell
Hardback
June 6, 2023
$90.00 USD
9780253065544 : three-encounters-krell
Paperback / softback
June 6, 2023
$60.00 USD

Other Titles by David Farrell Krell

Plato's Animals

edited by Jeremy Bell, Michael Naas, with contributions by Christopher Long, Claudia Baracchi, Sara Brill, S. Montgomery Ewegen, Francisco Gonzalez, H. Peter Steeves, Drew A. Hyland, David Farrell Krell, Marina McCoy, Holly Moore
May 2015 - Indiana University Press
$80.00 USD - Hardback
$32.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Derrida and Our Animal Others

David Farrell Krell
Jun 2013 - Indiana University Press
$75.00 USD - Hardback
$25.00 USD - Paperback / softback

The Tragic Absolute

David Farrell Krell
Sep 2005 - Indiana University Press
$34.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles from Studies in Continental Thought

On Imposture

Serge Margel, translated by Eva Yampolsky, OtherLes Editions Galilee
Mar 2023 - Indiana University Press
$40.00 USD - Hardback

Hearing, Sound, and the Auditory in Ancient Greece

edited by Jill Gordon, with contributions by Sara Brill, S. Montgomery Ewegen, Drew A. Hyland, Michael Naas, Michael M. Shaw, Eve Rabinoff, Sean Alexander Gurd, Jessica E. Decker, Ryan T. Drake, I-Kai Jeng, Rebecca Goldner, Kris McLain,...
Sep 2022 - Indiana University Press
$90.00 USD - Hardback
$50.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Duns Scotus's Doctrine of Categories and Meaning

Martin Heidegger, translated by Joydeep Bagchee, Jeffrey D. Gower
Jul 2022 - Indiana University Press
$50.00 USD - Hardback

Other Titles in PHILOSOPHY / General

Making Wonderful

Martin Tweedale
Feb 2023 - University of Alberta Press
$49.99 USD - Paperback / softback

Nietzsche's Voices

John Sallis, edited by Richard Rojcewicz
Jan 2023 - Indiana University Press
$75.00 USD - Hardback
$35.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Ethicality and Imagination

John Sallis
Sep 2022 - Indiana University Press
$75.00 USD - Hardback
$35.00 USD - Paperback / softback