Hardback
July 3, 2014
9781611174342
English
9.50 Inches (US)
6.50 Inches (US)
1.63 Pounds (US)
$24.99 USD
v2.1 Reference

The Sheltering

By Mark Powell
Foreword by Pat Conroy
"'You set yourself up as judge, jury, and executioner,' Pamela had said, but that was wrong: you set yourself up as angel, and await the word of God."



Luther Redding lost his job, and almost lost his wife, Pamela, and teenaged daughters Katie and Lucy, when the real estate bubble burst in Florida. Now he pilots a Reaper drone over the mountains of Afghanistan from a command center in the bowels of Tampa's MacDill Air Force Base, studying a target's pattern of life and awaiting the command to end that life. Meanwhile Bobby Rosen has returned home from his tours in Iraq to a broken marriage and an estranged son, his promising military career cut short in a moment of terrible violence in a Sadr City marketplace. As the tales of Luther and Bobby unfold, Mark Powell masterfully engages with the vexing, bifurcated lives of combatants in the global war on terror, those who are simultaneously here and there and thus never fully freed from the life-and-death chaos of the battlefield.



As Bobby sets off on a drug-fueled road trip with his brother Donny, newly released from prison and consumed by his own inescapable impulses, a sudden death in the Redding household sends Luther's daughter Katie spiraling into grief and self-destruction. Soon the lives of the Reddings and the Rosens intersect as the collateral damage from the war on terror sends these families into a rapid descent of violence and moral ambiguity that seems hauntingly familiar to Bobby while placing Katie in a position much like her father's—more removed witness than active participant in the bloody war unfolding in front of her. Overarching questions of faith and redemption clash with the rough-hewn realities of terror and loss, all to explosive ends in Powell's dark vision of modern Americana.



Novelist Ron Rash has deemed Powell "the best Appalachian novelist of his generation." In this, his fourth novel, Powell broadens the southern backdrop of his earlier work into a sprawling thriller taking readers from the Middle East to Charleston, southern Georgia, Tampa, Miami, New Orleans, and into the storied American West. In its themes, perspectives, and pacing, The Sheltering recalls the work of Robert Stone, Jim Harrison, and Ben Fountain while further establishing Powell as a unique voice capable of interrogating unfathomable truths with a beauty and cohesion of language that challenges our assumptions of the human spirit.

Review

"An extraordinary and entertaining novel, "The Sheltering" is highly recommended for personal reading lists and community library Contemporary Fiction collections."—Midwest Book Review (Willis M. Buhle)
"The Sheltering signifies a new era for the tradition where the South, with all its baggage, has merged with the whole of America. Set primarily in central Florida, "The Sheltering" is a literary thriller in the vein of Jim Harrison or Robert Stone. Two alternating storylines tell a complex story of war, violence and the possibility of spiritual regeneration."—Richmond (Va.) Times Dispatch




The Sheltering by Mark Powell, Bronze Medal winner for General Fiction in the 2014 Florida Book Awards
The Sheltering by Mark Powel, Bronze Medal winner for Contemporary Fiction in the 2015 Independent Publisher Book Awards
"The Sheltering is Powell's best novel to date. The subtleties he imbues into his characters make for an engaging read that, once you start, is hard to stop. The smoothness of prose proves that Powell knows what he is doing. There is no doubt about it, Powell has established himself as a voice not only of Appalachia, but of all contemporary American literature."—Southern Literary Review




"Powell is an accomplished story-teller, one whose strong narrative gift and vivid prose style kept this reader enthralled for every one of the book's three hundred pages." —Willard Manus (Lively-arts.com)
"The Sheltering further secures Mark Powell's place as one of the best American novelists of his generation."—Ron Rash, author of Above the Waterfall
"Everything's going to hell in the literary village these days except this one true thing—our novelists, these past few years, have delivered us into a Golden Age of American writing, and



Mark Powell's unforgettable The Sheltering is further evidence of this redemptive phenomenon in the post-9/11 world. The Sheltering is the work of a story-teller at the height of his power."—Bob Shacochis, author of The Woman Who Lost Her Soul
"In The Sheltering, Mark Powell has laid bare our busted and war-ravaged cores. We recognize our own lives in the precision of his renderings. It is as if he's seen it all somehow from on high, drone-weary and waiting on that whirling God. With fierce wisdom and bold honesty, Mark Powell has written a hell of book."—Glenn Taylor, author ofThe Ballad of Trenchmouth Taggart
"If, as Marilynne Robinson has said, 'anything that is written compassionately and perceptively probably satisfies every definition of religious,' then Mark Powell's The Sheltering is a deeply religious book. In this, his fourth novel, Powell embraces the broken world as he finds it, in all of its contradictions, its horrors, its wonders. This is an author whose sense of awe is palpable and one whose superb prose and remarkable narrative prowess will be celebrated as he reaches an ever-widening audience."—Pete Duval, author of Rear View: Stories
"In masterful prose, Mark Powell's brilliant new novel, The Sheltering, explores the lives of a handful of people who are trying in various ways to find either meaning or escape in a post-2007 America that is rapidly losing any claim to greatness through, among other things, senseless wars and financial disasters. It is an amazing achievement."—Donald Ray Pollock, author of The Devil All the Time
University of South Carolina Press
Story River Books

9781611174342 : the-sheltering-powell-conroy
Hardback
$24.99 USD

Other Titles by Pat Conroy

The Cigar Factory

Michele Moore, foreword by Pat Conroy
Aug 2016 - University of South Carolina Press
$19.99 USD - Paperback / softback

Untying the Moon

Ellen Malphrus, foreword by Pat Conroy
Oct 2015 - University of South Carolina Press
$24.95 USD - Hardback

Jacob Jump

Eric Morris, foreword by Pat Conroy
Aug 2015 - University of South Carolina Press
$19.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles from Story River Books

The Vain Conversation

Anthony Grooms, foreword by Clarence Major, afterword by T. Geronimo Johnson
Mar 2018 - University of South Carolina Press
$27.99 USD - Hardback

One Good Mama Bone

Bren Mcclain, foreword by Mary Alice Monroe
Nov 2017 - University of South Carolina Press
$19.99 USD - Paperback / softback

The Cage-maker

Nicole Seitz, foreword by Cassandra King Conroy
Jul 2017 - University of South Carolina Press
$27.99 USD - Hardback

Other Titles in FICTION / War & Military

Ualalapi

Ungulani Ba Ka Khosa, translated by Richard Bartlett, Isaura De Oliveira, introduction by Phillip Rothwell
Sep 2017 - Tagus Press
$19.95 USD - Paperback / softback

The Long Roll

Mary Johnston - foreword by George Garrett
Nov 1996 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Old Glory and the Stars and Bars

edited by George William Koon
Sep 1995 - University of South Carolina Press
$34.95 USD - Hardback
$14.95 USD - Paperback / softback