Paperback / softback
August 25, 2004
9780819567079
English
352
8.50 Inches (US)
5.50 Inches (US)
1 Pounds (US)
$26.95 USD, £19.95 GBP
v2.1 Reference
Electronic book text
March 1, 2010
9780819570680
English
352
8.50 Inches (US)
5.50 Inches (US)
$20.99 USD, £15.50 GBP
v2.1 Reference

The Moon Pool

The first scholarly edition of a classic science fiction novel.

One of the most gripping fantasies ever written, The Moon Pool embodies all the romanticism and poetic nostalgia characteristic of A. Merritt's writings. Set on the island of Ponape, full of ruins from ancient civilizations, the novel chronicles the adventures of a party of explorers who discover a previously unknown underground world full of strange peoples and super-scientific wonders. From the depths of this world, the party unwittingly unleashes the Dweller, a monstrous terror that threatens the islands of the South Pacific. Although Merritt did not invent the lost world novel, following in the footsteps of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Burroughs and others, he greatly elaborated upon that tradition. This new edition includes a biography of the author, and an introduction detailing Merritt's many sources and influences, including the occult, mythological, and scientific discourses of his day.

About the Authors

Author of 15 science fiction and fantasy novels, ABRAHAM MERRITT (1884-1943) was the most popular genre writer of his time. His talent for fantasy and science fiction writing was first recognized when the novelette version of this story appeared in a 1918 issue of All-Story Weekly. MICHAEL LEVY currently serves as Chair of the Department of English and Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

Reviews

"The Moon Pool is a lost-world novel in the tradition of Jules Verne, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Edgar Rice Burroughs, H. Rider Haggard, and James Hilton that manages to be spooky, spiritual, and silly all at once."—Belles Lettres

Endorsements

"This edition of The Moon Pool is a rare accomplishment: a scholarly edition of a piece of pulp fiction. Levy's edition does a service to the whole genre."—John Huntington, author of Rationalizing Genius

"This edition of The Moon Pool is a rare accomplishment: a scholarly edition of a piece of pulp fiction. Levy's edition does a service to the whole genre."—John Huntington, author of Rationalizing Genius

"As one of the most popular early works at the very birth of pulp magazines, The Moon Pool represents the tastes of this period. The introduction constitutes the major piece of Merritt scholarship to appear in recent decades."—Gary K. Wolfe, author of The Known and the Unknown

9780819567079 : the-moon-pool-merritt-levy
Paperback / softback
352 Pages
$26.95 USD
9780819570680 : the-moon-pool-merritt-levy
Electronic book text
352 Pages
$20.99 USD

Other Titles from Early Classics Of Science Fiction

Robur the Conqueror

Jules Verne, edited by Arthur B. Evans, translated by Alex Kirstukas
Jul 2017 - Wesleyan University Press
$29.95 USD - Hardback
$23.99 USD - Electronic book text

Celestial Empire

Nathaniel Isaacson
Feb 2017 - Wesleyan University Press
$80.00 USD - Hardback
$25.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$19.99 USD - Electronic book text

Sisters of Tomorrow

edited by Lisa Yaszek, Patrick B. Sharp
Jun 2016 - Wesleyan University Press
$29.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$23.99 USD - Electronic book text

Other Titles in FICTION / Science Fiction / General

Typescript of the Second Origin

Manuel de Pedrolo, translated by Sara Martín, OtherKim Stanley Robinson
Mar 2018 - Wesleyan University Press
$17.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$45.00 USD - Hardback

Altermundos

edited by Cathryn Josefina Merla-Watson, B. V. Olguin
Apr 2017 - UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center Press
$24.95 USD - Paperback / softback

The American Shore

Samuel R. Delany, OtherMatthew Cheney
Aug 2014 - Wesleyan University Press
$27.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$21.99 USD - Electronic book text