Hardback
March 31, 2008
9780819568663
English
264
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
1.2 Pounds (US)
$27.95 USD
v2.1 Reference
Electronic book text
May 15, 2015
9780819576101
English
264
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
$21.99 USD
v2.1 Reference

The Films of Samuel Fuller

If You Die, I’ll Kill You

A cigar-chomping storyteller who signaled “Action!” by shooting a gun, Samuel Fuller has been lionized as one of the most distinctive writer/directors ever to emerge from Hollywood. In such films as The Steel Helmet, Pickup on South Street, Shock Corridor, and The Big Red One, Fuller gleefully challenged classical and generic norms—and often standards of good taste—in an effort to shock and arouse audiences. Tackling war, crime, race, and sexuality with a candor rare for any period, Fuller’s maverick vision was tested by Hollywood’s transition from the studio system to independent filmmaking. Now, in the first full account of all of the director’s audaciously original work, author Lisa Dombrowski brings his career into new relief. The Films of Samuel Fuller features close analysis of Fuller’s pictures and draws on previously untapped production and regulatory files, script notes, and interviews to explore how artistic, economic, and industrial factors impacted Fuller’s career choices and shaped the expression of his personal aesthetic. Fans of Fuller and American cinema will welcome this in-depth study of a provocative director who embodied both the unique opportunities and challenges of postwar filmmaking.

Endorsement

"This book explodes on the printed page with all the fury and ferocity of her subject's most vivid explorations of the cinema of violence. Dombrowski has marvelously managed to make Samuel Fuller, the man, emerge more clearly from the mists of mythology he himself helped create. Splendid film scholarship!"—Andrew Sarris, film critic, The New York Observer

"In the strange universe of American cinema Sam Fuller is a certified bad-ass—stylistically visceral, thematically contentious, but always brutally honest. Lisa Dombrowski has written an invaluable and focused portrait of Fuller's work, deftly placing it in the context of both a shifting studio system and the moral instability of the world at large."—Jim Jarmusch, director, Stranger than Paradise, Broken Flowers
Wesleyan University Press
Wesleyan Film

9780819568663 : the-films-of-samuel-fuller-dombrowski
Hardback
264 Pages
$27.95 USD
9780819576101 : the-films-of-samuel-fuller-dombrowski
Electronic book text
264 Pages
$21.99 USD

Other Titles by Lisa Dombrowski

Kazan Revisited

Lisa Dombrowski
Jan 2012 - Wesleyan University Press
$27.99 USD - Electronic book text

Kazan Revisited

edited by Lisa Dombrowski
Jan 2011 - Wesleyan University Press
$35.00 USD - Hardback

Other Titles from Wesleyan Film

Escape Velocity

Bradley Schauer
Jan 2017 - Wesleyan University Press
$26.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$17.99 USD - Electronic book text
$80.00 USD - Hardback

The Lives of Robert Ryan

J.R. Jones
May 2015 - Wesleyan University Press
$30.00 USD - Hardback
$23.99 USD - Electronic book text

The Cinema of Errol Morris

David Resha
Apr 2015 - Wesleyan University Press
$85.00 USD - Hardback
$29.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$23.99 USD - Electronic book text

Other Titles in PERFORMING ARTS / Film & Video / General

Hollywood at the Races

Alan Shuback
Oct 2019 - University Press of Kentucky
$36.95 USD - Hardback
$36.95 USD - Electronic book text
$36.95 USD - Electronic book text

The Philosophy of Charlie Kaufman

edited by David LaRocca, with contributions by Samuel A. Chambers
Jun 2019 - University Press of Kentucky
$45.00 USD - Hardback
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

The Philosophy of War Films

edited by David LaRocca, with contributions by David LaRocca, Fredric Jameson, Garrett Stewart, Stacey Peebles, Joshua Gooch, Burke Hilsabeck, Garry L. Hagberg, Robert Burgoyne, Inger S. B. Brodey, Holger Pötzsch, Andrew Fiala, K. L. Ev...
Aug 2018 - University Press of Kentucky
$45.00 USD - Hardback
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback