Paperback / softback
December 12, 1996
9780813108810
English
240
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
.85 Pounds (US)
$25.00 USD
v2.1 Reference
Electronic book text
November 21, 2021
9780813187679
English
240
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
$45.00 USD
v2.1 Reference

The Excursion

Frances Brooke (1724-1789), journalist, translator, playwright, novelist, and even co-manager of a theater, was described as "perhaps the first female novel-writer who attained a perfect purity and polish of style." Today, Brooke is known primarily for The History of Emily Montague, one of the earliest novels about Canada, where she lived for a number of years. But it is her third novel, The Excursion, that is an important example of the fashionable and popular English novels of the late 1770s.

Written for the very audience it portrays, this novel introduces the heroine, Maria Villiers, to London's "gentle" society and its glittering pastimes. Brooke drew upon the English courtship novel in the tradition of Eliza Haywood, Henry Fielding, and Frances Burney for her novel's overarching plot structure. But instead of concentrating on Maria's romantic adventures, she experiments with unusual treatments of subplots and unconventional characters.

The most interesting aspect of her story is the development of Maria's ambition to win fame and fortune as a writer; it is one of the few portraits of a woman with literary ambitions by an early woman writer. Brooke's wry narrative voice foreshadows that of Jane Austen.

The editors' introduction places The Excursion firmly in the tradition of the English novel, provides a fresh biography of Brooke, and brings together the most important eighteenth- and twentieth-century criticism of Brooke's work.

The second volume in the series Eighteenth-Century Novels by Women, The Excursion contributes to our understanding of the development of the novel and offers a lively view of women's position in eighteenth-century English society.

About the Authors

Paula R. Backsheider is Pepperell-Philpott Eminent Scholar in English at Auburn University and the author of numerous books, including Spectacular Politics: Theatrical Power and Mass Culture in Early Modern England.

Hope D. Cotton is a doctoral student in English at Auburn University.

Reviews

"A valuable addition to the range of texts currently available."—British Journal for Eighteenth-Century Studies

9780813108810 : the-excursion-brooke-backscheider-cotton
Paperback / softback
240 Pages
$25.00 USD
9780813187679 : the-excursion-brooke-backscheider-cotton
Electronic book text
November 21, 2021
$45.00 USD

Other Titles by Paula R. Backscheider

Women in Wartime

Paula R. Backscheider
Dec 2021 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$99.95 USD - Hardback
$34.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$34.95 USD - Electronic book text

Daniel Defoe

Paula R. Backscheider
Oct 2021 - University Press of Kentucky
$29.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$35.00 USD - Electronic book text

Daniel Defoe

Paula R. Backsheider, Paula R. Backscheider
Jul 2014 - University Press of Kentucky
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles in LITERARY CRITICISM / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh

Samuel Richardson and the Dramatic Novel

Ira Konigsberg
Dec 2025 - University Press of Kentucky
$15.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$45.00 USD - Electronic book text

Winter Fruit

Dale B.J. Randall
Dec 2025 - University Press of Kentucky
$40.00 USD - Hardback
$70.00 USD - Electronic book text

The Religious Sublime

David B. Morris
Oct 2025 - University Press of Kentucky
$25.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$45.00 USD - Electronic book text