Paperback / softback
April 1, 2018
9781603290425
English
155
8.50 Inches (US)
5.50 Inches (US)
.52 Pounds (US)
$13.00 USD
v2.1 Reference
Electronic book text
April 1, 2018
9781603293709
9781603290425
English
155
$13.00 USD
v2.1 Reference
Electronic book text
April 1, 2018
9781603293693
9781603290425
English
155
$13.00 USD
v2.1 Reference

"Silent Souls" and Other Stories

Caterina Albert i Paradís (1869-1966) began her career with a scandal. Her dramatic monologue "The Infanticide," delivered by a young woman, won prizes and garnered the attention of the Catalan literary world, but its harsh theme drew outrage when the anonymous author was revealed to be a woman. In the tradition of George Eliot, George Sand, and other controversial women authors, Albert had assumed a man's name, Víctor Catalá. She continued to write unflinching narratives, mostly in Catalan, of the people and life around her, producing a body of work still enlisted today to help the Catalan language resist the dominance of Peninsular Spanish.

About the Authors

Born in 1869 to a wealthy family in L'Escala, Spain, Caterina Albert i Paradís lived almost one hundred years, and took part in most of the literary movements of her day. Major political events during her lifetime include an end to most Spanish colonial possessions in 1898; labor unrest resulting from the strengthening of the industrial revolution and war protests in the first decade of the twentieth century; and the Second Republic followed by the Spanish Civil War in the 1930s. A writer of great range in themes, styles, tones, and literary techniques, she published poetry, essays, short stories, and two novels under the pseudonym of Víctor Català.

Kathleen McNerney is professor emerita of Spanish at West Virginia University. Her publications include Latin American, Castilian, and French literature, but most focus on Catalan women writers. Co-editor of Double Minorities of Spain (MLA, 1994), she has also edited collections of articles on Mercè Rodoreda and translated stories, poetry, and four novels.

Reviews

"Caterina Albert is an excellent choice for this MLA series. She is a superb writer in a period—roughly modernist—that has drawn increasingly critical attention." —Geraldine C. Nichols, University of Florida

9781603290425 : silent-souls-and-other-stories-albert-mcnerney
Paperback / softback
155 Pages
$13.00 USD
9781603293709 : silent-souls-and-other-stories-albert-mcnerney
Electronic book text
155 Pages
$13.00 USD
9781603293693 : silent-souls-and-other-stories-albert-mcnerney
Electronic book text
155 Pages
$13.00 USD

Other Titles by Caterina Albert

"nimes mudes" i altres contes

Caterina Albert, edited by Kathleen McNerney
Apr 2018 - The Modern Language Association of America, an imprint of Modern Language Association of America
$13.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$13.00 USD - Electronic book text
$13.00 USD - Electronic book text

Other Titles by Kathleen McNerney

"nimes mudes" i altres contes

Caterina Albert, edited by Kathleen McNerney
Apr 2018 - The Modern Language Association of America, an imprint of Modern Language Association of America
$13.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$13.00 USD - Electronic book text
$13.00 USD - Electronic book text

Double Minorities of Spain

edited by Kathleen McNerney, Cristina Enríquez de Salamanca
Jan 1995 - The Modern Language Association, an imprint of Modern Language Association of America
$50.00 USD - Hardback

Other Titles from Mla Texts and Translations

Life and Deeds of the Famous Gentleman Don Catrín de la Fachenda

José Joaquín Fernández de Lizardi, edited by John Ochoa, translated by Bonnie Loder
Sep 2021 - The Modern Language Association of America, an imprint of Modern Language Association of America
$17.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$17.00 USD - Electronic book text
$17.00 USD - Electronic book text

Vida y hechos del famoso caballero Don Catrín de la Fachenda

José Joaquín Fernández de Lizardi, edited by John Ochoa
Sep 2021 - The Modern Language Association of America, an imprint of Modern Language Association of America
$17.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$17.00 USD - Electronic book text
$17.00 USD - Electronic book text

The Life of Saint Eufrosine: In Old French Verse, with English Translation

translated by Amy V. Ogden
Apr 2021 - The Modern Language Association of America, an imprint of Modern Language Association of America
$17.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$17.00 USD - Electronic book text
$17.00 USD - Electronic book text

Other Titles in FICTION / Short Stories (single author)

Drowned Town

Jayne Moore Waldrop
Oct 2021 - Fireside Industries, an imprint of University Press of Kentucky
$24.95 USD - Hardback
$24.95 USD - Electronic book text
$24.95 USD - Electronic book text

Bosses of Light and Sound

Nickalus Rupert
Jan 2021 - Willow Springs Press
$19.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Fabrications

Pamela Painter
Nov 2020 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$21.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$21.95 USD - Electronic book text