Paperback / softback
January 24, 2002
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
2.05 Pounds (US)
$45.00 USD
v2.1 Reference

Sergei Prokofiev

A Biography

The prolific creator of such classic popular works as Romeo and Juliet, Peter and the Wolf, and Cinderella, Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) was one of the most important and influential composers of the twentieth century. Drawing on unprecedented access to previously unknown or unavailable Russian-language sources, including extensive archival material, Harlow Robinson traces Prokofiev's extraordinary life from the fairy-tale world of Czarist Russia, through his many years abroad in America and Europe, to his perlexing permanent return to Moscow in 1936 under the Soviet Regime. That Prokofiev died on the very day as Josef Stalin, his principal persecutor, was the final irony of his intense and enigmatic career.

About the Author

HARLOW ROBINSON is Professor of Modern Languages and History at Northeastern University. He is the author of The Last Impresario: The Life, Times, and Legacy of Sol Hurok and the editor and translator of Selected Letters of Sergei Prokofiev, also published by Northeastern University Press. He is a contributor to the New York Times, Opera News, Dance Magazine, the Los Angeles Times, and the Metropolitan Opera-Texaco International Radio Network. He lives in the Boston area.


“This is the best biography in English to date on Prokofiev. Robinson . . . draws upon previously untranslated Russian documents and letters to provide an unusually rich and detailed view of this enigmatic composer.”—Library Journal

9781555535179 : sergei-prokofiev-robinson
Paperback / softback
584 Pages
$45.00 USD

Other Titles by Harlow Robinson

Lewis Milestone

Harlow Robinson
Dec 2019 - University Press of Kentucky
$34.95 USD - Hardback

Russians in Hollywood, Hollywood’s Russians

Harlow Robinson
Nov 2007 - Northeastern University Press
$29.95 USD - Hardback

Selected Letters Of Sergei Prokofiev

edited by Harlow Robinson, translated by Harlow Robinson
Apr 1998 - Northeastern University Press
$45.00 USD - Hardback


Mellencamp, updated edition

David Masciotra
May 2022 - University Press of Kentucky
$27.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$27.95 USD - Electronic book text
$27.95 USD - Electronic book text

GI Jive

Frank F. Mathias
Dec 2021 - University Press of Kentucky
$25.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$29.95 USD - Electronic book text

Hell-Bent For Music

Wade Hall
Dec 2021 - University Press of Kentucky
$40.00 USD - Hardback
$50.00 USD - Electronic book text