Paperback / softback
May 19, 2005
9780819567543
English
272
8.50 Inches (US)
5.50 Inches (US)
.75 Pounds (US)
$22.95 USD, £16.95 GBP
v2.1 Reference

Emotional Storm

Penetrating look at human relatedness by one of the field's most innovative thinkers.

"When two personalities meet, an emotional storm is created." This provocative quote by renowned psychoanalyst W.R. Bion is the point of departure for Eigen's new work. In the tradition of Martin Buber, Eigen explores the broad spectrum of emotions we experience in our relatedness to others, from feelings of longing, plenitude, and fulfillment to starvation, suffocation, and blind rage. Unlike authors of "easy" self-help books, Eigen embraces the storms of life as a critical aspect of our human bond. For Eigen, the emotional storm is not pathological, but rather integral to our humanity and instrumental to our growth and development. For this reason, he looks critically at our attempts to blunt our emotional response to the world around us. Like Eigen's other work, Emotional Storm weaves case studies, literary references, and psychoanalytic theory into an integrated, complex understanding.

About the Author

MICHAEL EIGEN is in private practice in New York. Author of numerous books, he is also Associate Clinical Professor of Psychology at New York University and a Senior Member of the National Psychological Association for Psychoanalysis.

Reviews

"Eigen's book is for readers who are willing to engage other wills, to storm the ramparts of apathy, prejudice, and self-protection, to come alive in a democratic universe of real personalities."—E. James Lieberman, The Foreword

Endorsements

"Emotional Storm is a remarkable work, a tour de force. Eigen has lucidly, articulately, and eloquently put into unforgettable prose some of the most important clinical themes in contemporary psychoanalysis."—James S. Grotstein, MD, Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, UCLA School of Medicine

"Emotional Storm is a remarkable work, a tour de force. Eigen has lucidly, articulately, and eloquently put into unforgettable prose some of the most important clinical themes in contemporary psychoanalysis."—James S. Grotstein, MD, Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, UCLA School of Medicine

"Eigen's latest work is an X-ray of the emotional underbelly of our contemporary world. A passionately moral work written with searing honesty, exemplary self-reflectiveness, and a respect for human complexity."—Jeffrey Rubin, author of The Good Life
Wesleyan University Press

9780819567543 : emotional-storm-eigen
Paperback / softback
272 Pages
$22.95 USD

Other Titles by Michael Eigen

Lust

Michael Eigen
Mar 2006 - Wesleyan University Press
$16.95 USD - Paperback / softback

The Sensitive Self

Michael Eigen
Apr 2004 - Wesleyan University Press
$18.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Rage

Michael Eigen
Nov 2002 - Wesleyan University Press
$17.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles in PSYCHOLOGY / General

Personality Disorders

Allan V. Horwitz
Mar 2023 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$35.00 USD - Hardback
$35.00 USD - Electronic book text

Metaphors of Mind in Fiction and Psychology

Michael S. Kearns
Oct 2021 - University Press of Kentucky
$25.00 USD - Paperback / softback
$45.00 USD - Electronic book text

Take Control of Your Drinking, second edition

Michael S. Levy
Dec 2020 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$57.00 USD - Hardback
$18.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$18.95 USD - Electronic book text