Hardback
November 14, 2023
9781950564330
English
176
8.50 Inches (US)
5.50 Inches (US)
$24.95 USD, £22.50 GBP
v2.1 Reference
Electronic book text
November 14, 2023
9781950564347
9781950564330
English
176
8.50 Inches (US)
5.50 Inches (US)
$24.95 USD, £22.50 GBP
v2.1 Reference
Electronic book text
November 14, 2023
9781950564354
9781950564330
English
176
8.50 Inches (US)
5.50 Inches (US)
$24.95 USD, £22.50 GBP
v2.1 Reference

Daughters of Muscadine

Stories

Two events tie together the nine stories in Monic Ductan's gorgeous debut: the 1920s lynching of Ida Pearl Crawley and the 1980s drowning of a high school basketball player, Lucy Boudreaux. Both forever shape the people and the place of Muscadine, Georgia, in the foothills of Appalachia. 

The daughters of Muscadine are Black Southern women who are, at times, outcasts due to their race and also estranged from those they love. A remorseful woman tries to connect with the child she gave up for adoption; another, immersed in loneliness, attempts to connect with a violent felon. Two sisters love each other deeply even when they cannot understand one another. A little girl witnessing her father's slow death realizes her own power and lack thereof. A single woman weathers the excitement—and rigors—of online dating.

Covering the last one hundred years, these are stories of people whose voices have been suppressed and erased for too long: Black women, rural women, Appalachian women, and working-class women. Ductan presents the extraordinary nature of everyday lives in the tradition of Alice Walker, Deesha Philyaw, James McBride, and Dorothy Allison in an engaging, engrossing, and exciting new voice.

About the Author

Monic Ductan teaches literature and creative writing at Tennessee Tech University. Her writing has appeared in a number of journals, including Southeast Review, Shenandoah, Appalachian Heritage, and South Carolina Review. Her essay "Fantasy Worlds" was listed as notable in Best American Essays 2019.

Reviews

"Monic Ductan's debut collection offers storytelling that's rare these days, forgoing lurid, livid drama for tales about quieter yet deeply meaningful lives. The key characters we meet across several generations all have connections to the same small, North Georgia hometown, bound by blood or circumstance. Yet each of their stories is uniquely satisfying. This unforgettable collection is among the most authentic, heartfelt fiction I've read in a long time, stories akin to Alice Walker's Everyday Use."—Martin Lammon, Fuller E. Callaway endowed Flannery O'Connor Chair in Creative Writing at Georgia College (1997-2018), author of News from Where I Live and The Long Road Home

"Monic Ductan doesn't just describe her fascinating characters; she inhabits them. Each story, each daughter of Muscadine, is written beautifully from the inside out. Ductan is like a portrait painter, an expert with fine, subtle brushstrokes, and her stories feel both deeply familiar and profoundly surprising. This wonderful collection offers an intricate composite picture of life in the diverse rural South—a tender, yearning, and refreshingly honest book."—Leah Hampton, author of F*ckface

"Monic Ductan's stories are emotionally gripping. I had to put down the book after each story and let it settle inside me before continuing to the next gem in the collection. Ductan is the writer I will certainly be keeping an eye on."—Sarah Johnson, author of The Lightkeeper's Wife and The Last Sailor

"Daughters of Muscadine is a lovely debut from a talented writer with an unwavering eye and ear for small town Black life. The smart and observant girls and women in this linked collection are magnificently portrayed by a writer with a sure hand for the nuances of place, race, and belonging. These stories are tender and precisely imagined, a great promise of what is to come from Monic Ductan."—Crystal Wilkinson, Kentucky Poet Laureate and author of The Birds of Opulence

9781950564330 : daughters-of-muscadine-ductan
Hardback
November 14, 2023
$24.95 USD
9781950564347 : daughters-of-muscadine-ductan
Electronic book text
November 14, 2023
$24.95 USD
9781950564354 : daughters-of-muscadine-ductan
Electronic book text
November 14, 2023
$24.95 USD

Other Titles in FICTION / African American / Women

Heartwood, expanded edition

Nikky Finney
Sep 2021 - University Press of Kentucky
$12.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$12.95 USD - Electronic book text
$12.95 USD - Electronic book text

Understanding Alice Walker

Thadious M. Davis
Aug 2021 - University of South Carolina Press
$59.99 USD - Hardback
$19.99 USD - Paperback / softback

The Birds of Opulence

Crystal Wilkinson
Feb 2018 - University Press of Kentucky
$29.95 USD - Hardback
$19.95 USD - Electronic book text
$29.95 USD - Electronic book text