Paperback / softback
February 1, 1994
9780801848759
English
248
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
.75 Pounds (US)
$25.00 USD, £18.50 GBP
v2.1 Reference

About the Author

Tom Horton reported on the Chesapeake Bay for the Baltimore Sun for fifteen years before becoming a freelancer in 1987. Available from Johns Hopkins, Horton's first book, Bay Country, won the John Burroughs Medal for our nation's best natural history book of the year. David W. Harp and Tom Horton's previous books, Water's Way: Life along the Chesapeake and The Great Marsh: An Intimate Journey into a Chesapeake Wetland, are also published by Johns Hopkins.

Reviews

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots."

- Baltimore Magazine

"Mr. Horton—a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following—ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee, and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed."

- New York Times Book Review

"Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book."

- Washington Post

"This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings."

- New York Times

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots."

- Baltimore Magazine
Johns Hopkins University Press
Maryland Paperback Bookshelf
From 17

9780801848759 : bay-country-horton
Paperback / softback
248 Pages
$25.00 USD

Other Titles by Tom Horton

The Nanticoke

David W. Harp and Tom Horton
Dec 2008 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$37.00 USD - Hardback

Water's Way

photography by David W. Harp - essays by Tom Horton
Jul 2000 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles from Maryland Paperback Bookshelf

The Dawn's Early Light

Walter Lord - with a new foreword by Scott S. Sheads
Jul 2012 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$26.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Treatise on the Gods

H. L. Mencken
Sep 2006 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$28.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Thirty-five Years of Newspaper Work

H. L. Mencken, edited by Fred Hobson, Vincent Fitzpatrick, Bradford Jacobs
Sep 2006 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles in NATURE / Regional

Trees and Shrubs of Kentucky

Mary E. Wharton, Roger W. Barbour
Mar 2022 - University Press of Kentucky
$39.95 USD - Hardback
$39.95 USD - Electronic book text
$24.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Kentucky Weather

Jerry Hill
Dec 2021 - University Press of Kentucky
$22.00 USD - Hardback
$22.00 USD - Electronic book text

Wildflowers and Ferns of Kentucky

Thomas G. Barnes, S. Wilson Francis
Oct 2021 - University Press of Kentucky
$29.95 USD - Hardback
$29.95 USD - Electronic book text

Other Titles in The Earth: natural history general

A Field Guide to Coastal Fishes of Bermuda, Bahamas, and the Caribbean Sea

Val Kells, Luiz A. Rocha, and Carole C. Baldwin
Oct 2022 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Why Sharks Matter

David Shiffman
May 2022 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$24.95 USD - Hardback
$24.95 USD - Electronic book text

Tree Story

Valerie Trouet
May 2022 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$27.00 USD - Hardback
$19.95 USD - Electronic book text
$19.95 USD - Paperback / softback