Paperback / softback
February 1, 1994
9780801848759
English
248
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
.75 Pounds (US)
$25.00 USD, £18.50 GBP
v2.1 Reference

Reviews

Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots.

- Baltimore Magazine

Mr. Horton—a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following—ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee, and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed.

- New York Times Book Review

Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book.

- Washington Post

This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings.

- New York Times

Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots.

- Baltimore Magazine
Johns Hopkins University Press
Maryland Paperback Bookshelf
From 17

9780801848759 : bay-country-horton
Paperback / softback
248 Pages
$25.00 USD

Other Titles by Tom Horton

The Nanticoke

David W. Harp and Tom Horton
Dec 2008 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$37.00 USD - Hardback

Water's Way

photography by David W. Harp - essays by Tom Horton
Jul 2000 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles from Maryland Paperback Bookshelf

The Dawn's Early Light

Walter Lord - with a new foreword by Scott S. Sheads
May 2012 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$26.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Maryland Wits and Baltimore Bards

Frank R. Shivers Jr.
Jan 1998 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$28.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Eat, Drink, and Be Merry in Maryland

Frederick Philip Stieff
Nov 1997 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$28.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles in NATURE / General

Honeybee Hotel

Leslie Day
Oct 2018 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$22.95 USD - Hardback
$22.95 USD - Electronic book text

Owls of the World

James Duncan
Oct 2018 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$29.95 USD - Hardback

Elkhorn

Richard Taylor
Sep 2018 - University Press of Kentucky
$35.00 USD - Hardback
$35.00 USD - Electronic book text
$35.00 USD - Electronic book text

Other Titles in The Earth: natural history general

Why Sharks Matter

David Shiffman
Apr 2022 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$24.95 USD - Hardback
$24.95 USD - Electronic book text

Elephant Trails

Nigel Rothfels
Nov 2021 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$40.00 USD - Hardback
$40.00 USD - Electronic book text

Mennonite Farmers

Royden Loewen
Nov 2021 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$49.95 USD - Paperback / softback
$49.95 USD - Electronic book text