Paperback / softback
February 1, 1994
9780801848759
English
248
9.00 Inches (US)
6.00 Inches (US)
.75 Pounds (US)
.75 Pounds (US)
$29.00 USD, £21.50 GBP
v2.1 Reference

Bay Country

Bay Country, Tom Horton's bestselling book about the Chesapeake, is now available in paperback from Johns Hopkins. A native of Maryland's Eastern Shore, Horton has written about the environment for the past fifteen years in the Baltimore Sun. He is a writer who can mention herring and Proust in the same breath—and charm readers with no previous affection for either. His stories of oysters and sea nettle, elms and rivers, barrier islands and blue crabs, farmers and watermen, always reach beyond the local to the most universal of subjects.

About the Author

Tom Horton is a native and resident of Maryland's Eastern Shore and a regular contirbutor to the Baltimore Sun.

Reviews

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots."—Baltimore Magazine

"Mr. Horton—a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following—ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee, and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed."—New York Times Book Review

"Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken . . . As Smith Islanders might say, it's a 'right smart' book."—Washington Post

"This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings."—New York Times

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking its harbor roots."—Baltimore Magazine

The Johns Hopkins University Press
Maryland Paperback Bookshelf

9780801848759 : bay-country-horton
Paperback / softback
248 Pages
$29.00 USD

Other Titles by Tom Horton

The Nanticoke

David W. Harp, Tom Horton
Dec 2008 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$39.00 USD - Hardback

Water's Way

photographs by David W. Harp, Tom Horton
Jun 2000 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$32.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles from Maryland Paperback Bookshelf

The Dawn's Early Light

Walter Lord, foreword by Scott S. Sheads
May 2012 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$29.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Treatise on the Gods

H. L. Mencken
Sep 2006 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$30.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Thirty-five Years of Newspaper Work

H. L. Mencken, edited by Fred Hobson, Vincent Fitzpatrick, Bradford Jacobs
Sep 2006 - The Johns Hopkins University Press
$32.00 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles in NATURE / Regional

Edible and Medicinal Flora of the West Coast, expanded edition

Collin Varner
May 2023 - University of Washington Press
$22.95 USD - Paperback / softback

The Hoosier Way

WTIU
Oct 2022 - Indiana University Press
$18.00 USD - DVD video
$25.00 USD - DVD-ROM

Homewaters

David B. Williams
Sep 2022 - University of Washington Press
$29.95 USD - Hardback
$19.95 USD - Paperback / softback

Other Titles in The Earth: natural history general

Frogs of the United States and Canada, second edition

C. Kenneth Dodd Jr.
Jun 2023 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$199.00 USD - Hardback
$199.00 USD - Electronic book text

Wildlife Stewardship on Tribal Lands

edited by Serra J. Hoagland and Steven Albert
May 2023 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$59.95 USD - Hardback
$59.95 USD - Electronic book text

A Centaur in London

Fabian Kraemer
Apr 2023 - Johns Hopkins University Press
$60.00 USD - Hardback
$60.00 USD - Electronic book text